Naomi Campbell and Iman Fighting for Diversity on the Runway – My Opinion on the Issue

I have not really thought about this, until I saw this video come up in my feed on Youtube, a couple minutes ago, that many of the designers at the Fall 2013 shows, lately have only been using white models, or one black model in their show. With Joan Smalls, Chanel Iman, and Grace Mahary ranking up shows at Fashion Week, it’s still really depressing to me that at Louis Vuitton‘s Fall 2013 show, no black models were cast. As a blonde with blue eyes myself, and living in the Washington DC area, I have been given the gift to be able to be exposed to diversity at such a young age. I have friends of all races: Muslim, Black, Asian, Hispanic, and much more. I even have three cousins that are Columbian, one with a Columbian father, and the other two with a Columbian paternal grandmother. There is definitely beauty in every race that there can be. I believe that diversity is a very important part of our culture. I really believe that the runway needs to show the Beauty of all races, because I really believe that when there isn’t much diversity on the runways, girls that are of other races might feel insecure and put down, because the runway isn’t really showing the Beauty of their race. This should definitely be an issue that needs to be taken care of.
There have been some changes with diversity over the past five years with Liu Wen being the first Asian model to walk the Victoria’s Secret Show, and having Fei Fei Sun, Tao Okamoto, and Shu Pei follow in her footsteps. Just like there has been progression in the Runway diversity, I do believe that the Casting directors and Fashion Designers at Fashion Week will start to progress to a better, more diverse future on the Runway.
It would be really nice to see models of different races on the catwalk, as addressed by Naomi Campbell and Iman in this Youtube clip, interviewing the Supermodels from ABC News. You go girls!

One thought on “Naomi Campbell and Iman Fighting for Diversity on the Runway – My Opinion on the Issue

  1. Pingback: How close are we to a more Diverse runway? | Katie's Runway Report

Leave a Reply

